Skip to content
May 30, 2011 / Sue-Yee Leung

My melon has a first name, it’s W-Y-A-T-T

fruit dolls by Sue-Yee Leung
fruit dolls, a photo by Sue-Yee Leung on Flickr. 

So, I’m looking at my watermelon. Like almost all fruits and vegetables sold in the US, it’s got a convenient barcode in the label; this one made me look twice though–“See where I came from: http://www.melontrace.com,” it touts. How can I resist its air of international mystery? I’ve never had a fruit be so open in sharing its origins with me before. This calls for more research, and this is what I discovered:

My little round guy is a Texan. Wyatt is a fine name for a melon.

watermelon trace by Sue-Yee Leung
Hello, my name is ____, a photo by Sue-Yee Leung on Flickr.
glass cased watermelon by Sue-Yee Leung
glass cased watermelon, a photo by Sue-Yee Leung on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Watermelon enclosed in a fancy glass merchandise case. Like a Barbie Mansion, except for cut fruit.

Night Supermarket by Sue-Yee Leung
Night Supermarket, a photo by Sue-Yee Leung on Flickr.

Via Flickr:

Snacktime: picking out watermelon at the supermarket in China.

Leave a comment